New York City, chartered in 1898, consists of five boroughs, each also a county: Manhattan (New York County), the Bronx (Bronx County), Brooklyn (Kings County), Queens (Queens County), and Richmond, or Staten Island ( Richmond County). Manhattan, the original New York City, founded 1626, is an island; population 1,537,195, area 22.20 square miles. Brooklyn (settled 1636), on Long Island was formerly an independent city; population 2,465,326, area 80.95 square miles. The Bronx (settled 1641) is on the mainland north of Manhattan; population 1,357,589, area 41.41 square miles. Queens (settled about 1635) is on Long Island; population 2,229,379, area 121.12 square miles. Staten Island (settled about 1638) is in the southwest corner of New York Bay; population 470,000, area 57.15 square miles.
The metropolitan area of New York City is the district within a radius of approximately 40 miles of City Hall and includes parts of New Jersey, Westchester County (N.Y.), Connecticut, and Long Island.

This website is created and designed by Atlantis International, 2006
This is an unofficial website with educational purpose. All pictures, and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and may not be reproduced for any reason whatsoever. If proper notation of owned material is not given please notify us so we can make adjustments. No copyright infringement is intended.
Mail Us